Who is a “Bad Mom”? I am!

bad20momsI had the sweet luxury of watching Bad Moms last night thanks to my favorite mommy blogger/close friend JOMAMAZ and Taj Cinemas . THE original JOMAMAZ, along with myself and a few of our close mommy friends laughed our heads off from beginning to end with this movie. It most definitely is the funniest movie I have seen in a very long time. Most moms who have watched this/will watch it will relate to almost every single moment in this film as a mom. Even dads who are super hands-on with their kids will get a kick out of this movie.

The story is all about how 3 moms reach their breaking point and are tired of trying to fill a 1,000 roles within their families (the cook, the driver, the working mom, the cleaner, the enforcer, etc.). All the while, these moms are always being judged by those “perfect moms” (we all have one of those in our lives); constantly ridiculed by society for either being too relaxed with our kids, or too strict with them. We as parents of this generation are lost in the parenting arena. Do we do “timeouts” or do we talk their ears off till our kids tiny brains start to understand what we want from them? Do we yell, or do we lightly scold them when they’ve done something utterly stupid? Do we force them to do things that will make them better humans, or let them figure it out on their own? Who knows…but this movie totally opened my eyes to the idea that it is OK if I’m not the perfect mom. In fact, I’m far from it. And I actually don’t want to be one. There is no such thing as perfection, and I want my kids to see me in all my glory (the good, the bad, and the totally ugly).

I’ve had my moments where I will see moms around me who have never yelled at their kids, and I think, CRAP I’m a bad mom. Or other times where moms spend every waking moment with their kids, while I would rather enjoy a good solid hour or 2 of solitude; CRAP I’m a bad mom. Or even times where moms will take their kids to hundreds of play-dates, while I want to pass out after a long day of work…CRAP I’m a bad mom. But why does all of that make me feel like a bad mom? Why is that even the thought crosses my mind? Being a parent is the most selfless thing you could choose to be, yet when we want to be our own beings – we are bad moms?

The takeaway from this movie is that you do not have to be the perfect mom. IN FACT, just because we decide to let loose and put ourselves first every once in awhile, shouldn’t make us #BadMoms. It should just come with the territory of being a mom. I don’t think society is fully ready to accept this though, so until then I am happy to say, “I’m a Bad Mom.”

Leave a Reply

